An Administrative Note

As is the usual at this time of year, my time for blogging shrinks to virtually zero.  I only get home for two days of the week, and most of my time is spent getting ready to go back out to the field.   That doesn’t mean I haven’t been following the political news – and yes, I have some firm opinions on them, even unprintable ones.   So, what’s this post about?

If you look back in the archives, you’ll note that I’ve done a lot of picture posts, using memes to make a point.  What you’ll also notice is that the pictures don’t appear anymore.  Photobucket, which has been the photo service I use, has decided to turn off outside linking unless you have a professional account.  Not just any professional account, but the high-end one.   No, I didn’t get any warning on that.   As a result, those pictures will not show up here, although they still exist.

Even if I had the financial wherewithal to cough up $500 a year for that account level, I wouldn’t do so.  To say I’m pissed off about it is an understatement.  So if you were looking at the various posts here and on my other blog and you see that notification, you’ll know why.

What am I going to do about it?  I have a couple of other accounts with other photo services, and when I get time later this year I’ll be moving my stuff off of Photobucket and if things slow down enough, updating the links in those posts to put the correct photographs back in place.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “An Administrative Note

  1. dbtheonly

    Will wait patiently for you to get back to it.

    I renew my question, is it possible to stay drunk for four years?

  2. Same Photobucket story here, Norbrook. I love how they notify you *after* they destroy your posts. I spent three hours on Saturday and Sunday downloading all my images – gak, what a painful process, between the ads and the iCaptcha challenge on every folder, it was excruciating.

    With WordPress, I can use the built-in media library and upload the associated images then refresh the old posts that now look like gibberish, a process that will take some time. The posts that are on other blogs that I have written for? Oh well.

  3. By the way, I did not know that the “offered service” was something that would cost $500 a year! I hadn’t uploaded an image to Photobucket since the Motley Moose migrated to WordPress almost 2 years ago and I would not have upgraded even if it cost $5 a year so I never even looked at the options.

    I am going to guess that the number of people who view my old DK photo diaries is somewhere between 0 and -0 so there is no great loss. 🙂 I copied the diaries I cared about to my personal WordPress years ago and they can be viewed there once I get the updates in place.

    • I rechecked the figure, it’s $400, which is still too high. What truly ticked me off is not only was there no warning, but it’s only with the highest tier that you can get external linking. While I might have grumbled and bit the bullet for the lowest tier, what they did just insured that I won’t even do that if they change.