Administrivially Musing

Back when I started this blog, my plan was for it to be my “everything but politics” place.  I was a regular on Daily Kos and The Albany Project, as well as having invitations to write for several other political blogs.   All well and good for my political opinions, but they weren’t appropriate venues for the many other things that interest me.  As often happens to me, the “best laid plans” went astray.  Which is why this blog became … mostly about politics.

At the time, I hadn’t planned on leaving Daily Kos.  The other sites I wrote for had limits, for example, TAP is mostly a site about state politics.  So most of what I used to do somewhere else ended up here.   Which is all well and good, and believe me, I appreciate the readership I’ve gotten from it.  That said, now that the 2012 election is over, I’m hoping to pivot at long last back to what this blog was supposed to be about:  Everything else but politics.

That doesn’t mean that politics won’t still be on the menu.  I’m a political junkie, and yes, I still have a few things to say in the hopper.   I think I can count on Republicans doing something truly stupid, a “liberal” pundit being terminally clueless, or something else happening that will draw me out into political commentary again.

But I am hoping that “politics” isn’t the most frequent category going forward.

Besides subject changes, what else do I have planned?  I’m going to be tinkering … again … with various features here.  I see there’s a bunch of new themes available, and I may be giving some of them a spin.  Last year’s attempt at that didn’t work out well,  but I won’t know if I don’t try.  I’ll also be doing some reorganization here on the page, to shift things around.

I’m also planning on writing more.  In looking at my archives, my production here is highest from November through February, and somewhat into March.  I expect that pattern to continue.  It’s a function of my professional life.    For six months I’m out in the field, and incredibly busy.  My time for sitting down and writing blog posts shrinks drastically, along with my motivation to make time.  Things get less busy once I’m out of the field.  The position I have now is one where I’m in the process of revamping everything.   While I’ve made a big dent in what needs to be done, I’m still looking at another two years before things are where they should have been.

That’s the plan, and for once, I hope I can stick to it.  Oh yes, there will be pictures.

10 Comments

Filed under Meta

10 responses to “Administrivially Musing

  1. overseasgranny

    Norbrook, When you revamp, some of your pictures are slightly too big and get cut off on the right side. I can right click on the picture and open it in a new tab to read the words, but it is a small pain. Can you adjust this please along the way of the revamp?

    • The column width in this theme is 500 pixels wide. Normally, if I’m inserting them, I edit the “width=” to that figure. It’s not the theme, it’s something I do manually. Sorry. :oops:

  2. aquagranny911

    Hola Norbrook! The cat in that last pic is wearing one of my rugs. If I could post pics I would show you one of my cats rolled up like a burrito in a rug of that very same pattern. Whatever you do here I am sure I will enjoy. But I just must ask:

    Don’t you want to hash out the Petreus scandal? It is sure to be a movie of the week or perhaps a mini series soon.

    • WordPress only allows blog owners or authors to put pictures in comments, and it needs a different screen to do so. Even the commercial versions don’t let you do it, sorry. :cry:

      As for the Petreus scandal, no, I’m not going to hash it out. Right now, it looks like the only ones who weren’t informed or doing something stupid were the President and Holly Petreus. :sad: However, Scott Erb has a nice article about it over at his blog.

  3. I’m already looking forward to your thoughts and insights on matters both trivial and tremendous. Always on my list of must-reads. Including the pictures.

    • Thanks! :-D I’m still going to do some political blogging. I still have a few drafts in the mill, so they’ll be appearing over the next week or so. But I think we all need a break from politics for a while, and there’s a lot of other things I find very interesting. ;-)

  4. I hope there will be some political blogging, but I welcome cat pictures a lot. I don’t own a cat and never will but I love those cartoons. You’ll find lots of stuff to write about, I’m sure. The world is a nutty place.

  5. Yes, I think we’re all ready to get away from politics for a while though for some of us that will be tougher than most. I do look forward though to what you have to offer on other subjects.

    • Oh, I plan on having some more political things to say, but instead of my “90% plus” on politics, I’m rather hoping to get it down to around 10-25%. :lol: