General Musing on a Thursday

Last week I came home from work, and turned on my computer.  Well, I tried to turn on the computer.    I say I tried, because it didn’t turn on.  A few minutes of checking things out told me that the power supply had bit the dust.  It’s one of the advantages of being a former computer technician, that I can quickly diagnose what’s wrong.  Unfortunately, that wasn’t a lot of help in the situation.  So except for the moments when I could hop on the internet elsewhere, I’ve been “off line,” which means that I haven’t been as active as before around here.  Well, that, and work having hit a big peak this past week.

While there are a lot of advantages to living up here in the Adirondacks,  they’re sometimes balanced out by the disadvantages.  The computer failure was one of them.  Yes, I knew what was wrong, yes, I knew how to fix it.  The problem was getting the part to do so.  That is something that takes time, in this case, a week.  The nearest “computer shop” which might stock the available parts is a 90 mile (one-way) drive from here, and there’s no guarantee they would have had the correct part.  Yes, I did order it “on-line,” but I had to wait for the local library to open up so I could use the computers there.

In the intervening week, the DNC convention started.   I’m sure the Republicans are actually happy  it has – or at least the Republican strategists are – because various Republicans keep committing public stupidity.  Case in point, Representative Roscoe Bartlett.

“Not that it’s not a good idea to give students loans; it certainly is a good idea to give them loans,” Bartlett said. “But if you can ignore the Constitution to do something good today, tomorrow you will be ignoring the Constitution to do something bad. You could. There are more people in our, in America today of German ancestry than any other [inaudible]. The Holocaust that occurred in Germany — how in the heck could that happen? And when you start down the wrong road, it can be a very slippery slope.”

No, really, he equated student loans (which he thinks are unconstitutional) to the Holocaust.  You have to be a special kind of stupid – or a Republican member of the House, apparently – to go there.   Over in Ohio, the Secretary of State is refusing to comply with a court order:

Jon Husted, Republican Secretary of State in Ohio, is refusing to change his restrictive early voting schedule even after a federal court restored in-person early voting to all Ohioans during the three day period before the general election. Husted claims expanding hours before an appeals court hears his case will “only serve to confuse voters.” Husted first restricted the voting hours in Democratic-leaning urban counties to weekdays only, then restricted all counties’ voting schedules after complaints of unfairness. In spite of several counties’ requests to stay open on weekends, when most employed people have time to vote, Husted has flatly refused to accommodate them.

But hey, it’s OK if you’re a Republican, and want to insure your candidate wins.   There’s also their candidate in North Dakota, who wants to send women to jail for having an abortion, even in the case of rape or incest.    Seriously, most of the public is willing to make exceptions in those cases, and even for things like “life of the mother.”  Republicans apparently think they should be in jail for the rest of their lives.

You know, I remember when “conservative” meant people like William F. Buckley or Barry Goldwater.  You might not agree with them, but you never thought they were stupid.  These days?  The term “conservative” just means “fucking stupid.”

 

5 Comments

Filed under Meta, Politics

5 responses to “General Musing on a Thursday

  1. Vic78

    What’s even worse is when you prove them wrong they won’t change their position. Since when were student loans bad? I could understand if they presented a better way for people to go through school. Or if they had a different idea that can be argued. I’m for improving a sub optimal program. It’s like the old Hulk cartoons, “student loan bad.” I remember one of them say that labor unions weren’t in the constitution as an argument against labor unions.

    Any word I could use to describe them would be a synonym for stupid. What really hurts is that they are the most politically active and the most gullible. I’ll say middle schoolers should have comprehensive sex Ed. Opponents will translate that to mean I want to teach 3 year olds anal sex. You know something’s up when social justice is a bad thing.

    • Way back when, when there was an incident, I started writing a snark post, beginning with the idea of “what’s the dumbest thing I could imagine saying about it.” I ended up canning it because the realization sunk in that no matter how outrageously stupid I made it, there would be a Republican politician who would say it. On almost any issue these days, I can say that about the Republicans. It doesn’t matter how stupid it really is, they’ll say it in all seriousness.

      • Vic78

        When vaginas kill unwanted sperm it’s difficult to put anything past them. I’m wondering when the masturbating bill hits the floor.

  2. “Every sperm is sacred…” I think some Republicans would cheer the Python song as being serious 🙂

    The Ohio thing amazes me. I can’t imagine he’ll get away with it.

    • I think that they’d cheer it as well.

      The Ohio thing turned out that no, he didn’t get away with it. Right after the judge ordered him – not his attorneys, him – to appear in front of the judge, Husted backed down and followed the order.