Administrative Note – Commenting Problems?

I’ve received a complaint about difficulty commenting here, and from looking around, other WordPress.com accounts are having the same issue.  What happened is that WordPress changed the commenting system somewhat, so that anyone who has been using Gravatar (which is a part of WordPress) has to “log in” to comment.  There was no real announcement of this, it’s buried down in the “support” threads:

We’ve recently updated our commenting system.

Now if someone tries to comment with an email address attached to a WordPress.com account (or Gravatar account, they’re the same), they’ll need to sign into WordPress.com before they can comment.

If you’d like specific help, please check out Diary of Daedalus who has a nice (with pictures) step-by-step walk-through.   Sorry for any inconvenience, apparently this was something WordPress thought up without asking any of us. 🙄

4 Comments

Filed under Meta

4 responses to “Administrative Note – Commenting Problems?

  1. aquagranny911

    Norbrook, I’m still having great difficulty with Word Press & I may not be the only one who can’t log on and comment here. I will wait to see if this comment goes through.

    If you visit WP’s tech help site you will see plenty of pissed off people, especially blog owners who are losing traffic because of this ignorant BS.

    • I’m irritated by it as well, because I normally get a lot of “new changes!” notifications from WP, and this wasn’t one of them. Since I’m a blog owner, I didn’t really notice any “difficulties” in commenting elsewhere, so it wasn’t until you complained that I knew there were potential issues. 😦 Hopefully this irons out.

  2. sjterrid

    I usually never log off from WP. However, if I make a comment or want to like the diary there are times I would get a message that I need to log in to WP and all I have to do is give my user name and password to continue.

    • My understanding of the “change” is that if you don’t have a Word Press account, but do have a Gravatar account (that allows that nice picture with our name), it started asking you to “log in to WordPress” (which Gravatar is a part of). Which caused a lot of people to have comments “bounce” because of that.