2012 Starts, and 2011 in review

You may notice that this blog now looks surprisingly … similar … to what it did before I started playing around with themes.  For those who aren’t using WordPress or similar blogging software, a “theme” is a template.  It gives you a set of options, and enables you to easily select the sort of “look” your blog will have.     After weeding out the “nope, not going to work for me” ones right off the bat, I came up with 6 candidates.  After a trial of each, for now I decided to punt back to the original.    There’s a candidate “replacement,” that I’ll be thinking of switching to at some point.

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Syndey Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 49,000 times in 2011. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 18 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

6 Comments

Filed under Meta

6 responses to “2012 Starts, and 2011 in review

  1. no desire to fiddle around withy our banner photo? 🙂

  2. overseasgranny

    No reason to change as this is so readable and pleasant, calm and soothing to the eyes.

    • Readability is one of the key things that I was looking for in any of the new themes. This is the fourth theme I’ve used since I started here. In general, what I’m looking for is something that gives me the ability to put things I want people to see (besides my content) in a convenient space. That ends up being “three column” – usually “sidebar-content-sidebar.” Last year I fooled around with some of the two-column ones, moving things to the header or footer, but it didn’t work well. 😦

      Right now, I’m sticking with this, but if I do switch, it’ll be to the Comet theme. The nice thing about it is that it has the ability to put a background photo on without it making the the text unreadable.

  3. Hola, Kiddo and Happy New Year!

    I love all your photos so do what ever you need to keep on doing what you do. I’ll squint my eyes if I have to when I read text.

    Love the comparison of your blog hits to Sidney Opera House attendance, too amusing! Let’s see if we can make your hits go over the 100,000 mark for 2012. I have a really big family,lol ♥