Monday Musings

I was going to take a break today, but what the heck.  There’s so much goodness going on.    Let’s see, well, Huffington Post has been sold to AOL.  Arianna is supposed to still be in charge, and after she cashes out, I’m sure that she’ll collect a nice salary as well.   Which is nice, considering that most of her site’s content is produced for free by unpaid bloggers.  Who, it turns out had some questions about that point.

Here’s my question: the deal is worth $300 million. Will she be sharing the booty with any of the bloggers? This looks to me like a great time for a special dividend.

I think we know the answer to that.  Equally fun is that there are some calls for a blogging boycott of HuffPo unless they start paying for content.

Then there was the always reliable source of stupid, Sarah Palin.  Yes, she’s decided to chime in on Egypt, since she’s an expert on foreign policy.

“Mubarak, he’s gone, one way or the other. He is not going to be the leader of Egypt. That’s a given,” Palin said. “So now the information needs to be gathered and understood as to who it will be that fills now the void in the government. Is it going to be the Muslim Brotherhood? We should not stand for that, or with that or by that. Any radical Islamists, no that is not who we should be supporting and standing by. So we need to find out who was behind all of the turmoil and the revolt and the protests so that good decisions can be made in terms of who we will stand by and support.”

Um, let’s see.  I don’t think we have any real say in the matter.  Matter of fact,  every news report has made the point that the Muslim Brotherhood isn’t a real force there, and that they were caught by surprise as well.  Wonkette’s take on her?

Yes, God forbid that some of those protestors are conservative and want the Egyptian law to reflect Islam and its ethics. People like Palin are consummate secularists who would never want God to have an influence on politics or government or law and order.

If any atheist ever wanted proof there is a God, just remember:  This woman is not one heartbeat away from the Presidency!   Every time she opens her mouth, and an incoherent stream of half-assed verbiage comes out that demonstrates she hasn’t bothered to educate herself on a subject, you should be thankful for that fact.  If you actually think she has any clue about what she’s talking about, then, well, you really need to stop listening to her.

Of course, in the “crazier than thou” sweepstakes, Glenn Beck is making an impressive stretch run.  If he’s not dressing up as a wizard, he has some geography problems.   But that’s not the crazy part.  He apparently believes that there’s a mass Islamic plot to create a caliphate covering the Middle East, and telling his viewers about the mass conspiracy and connections that are in place.   He’s gone so far out of bounds that even Bill Kristol has said it’s crazy.

When Glenn Beck rants about the caliphate taking over the Middle East from Morocco to the Philippines, and lists (invents?) the connections between caliphate-promoters and the American left, he brings to mind no one so much as Robert Welch and the John Birch Society. He’s marginalizing himself, just as his predecessors did back in the early 1960s.

Except of course, for the people who actually believe Glenn Beck.   I keep waiting for him to announce that there’s a comet he and his viewers need to catch a ride on, or that they really need to start drinking Kool-Aid.   The scary part is that there’s apparently plenty of people who’d do it.

25 Comments

Filed under Business, Politics

25 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. Too late, Bill Kristol … you own Glenn Beck and the crazy that he is painting the Republican party and the conservative movement with.

    You needed to call them out before they started this boulder rolling downhill.

    • I wouldn’t be surprised it they thought they could stop it at any time, and are now rather horrified to find out that no, they can’t.

      • Puts me in mind of the German industrialists who thought they could control that crazy rabble rouser, use him till his puppet value was exhausted and then dispose of him….

      • I wouldn’t be surprised it they thought they could stop it at any time, and are now rather horrified to find out that no, they can’t.

        I wonder about that also. It is funny to read about (I can’t listen) Beck’s rant back. It includes this comment:

        They’ll do anything to keep their little fiefdom together and they’ll do anything to keep the Republican power entrenched.

        Very true. I wonder if Kristol and his bosses are getting a little nervous.

    • TrumpDog

      I made the mistake of turning to Morning Joe this morning. I briefly saw Kristol and heard him make a quip about being used to being fair and balanced on Fox.
      I turned the channel. My blood pressure was not worth the rise in sticking around to hear his drivel.

  2. Interesting stuff isn’t it?

    This whole caliphate thing is just demonizing to give fear an upper hand to those who believe we need to keep Egypt close to us by keeping a guy like Mubarak in power. Yes, the Muslim Brotherhood believes in the bringing about a caliphate over all of the current (and they hope future) Islamic lands (which I read in a July 2008 report to the Senate Homeland Security Committee), but that is about as realistic as the Republican Party can institute a Christian theological government over our America (maybe I should start a conspiracy rumor that this is what they’re up to? 😉 )

    As for the HuffPo sale – I think it would be fair to all the bloggers that help make HuffPo what it has become (to some anyway). What – fairly – would she be without them?

    It always seems to amuse me of the antics Beck is up to when I read about them (as I think I’ve actually watch his show – or a part of it – like twice or three times may be).

    Sarah Palin – hmm, someone who gets less attention from me than even Glenn Beck.

    • Well, there are the “Dominionists” who rather would like to create a Christian theocracy here in the U.S. I doubt they’ll succeed, although they are in some states making a real pain of themselves. 🙄 In terms of a “caliphate,” it’s one of those pie-in-the-sky ideas, but the reality that most of these groups tend to end up at each others’s throats doesn’t make it a possibility.

      With Glenn, I think he’s actually has gone from “being outrageous to up the ratings” to “he believes this stuff.” Either he needs to get off whatever meds he’s on, or up the dosage. Regarding Sarah Palin, I keep thinking how much better her public appearances would be if she covered her mouth with duct tape.

      • Hey, I’ve got an idea. We can get the Brotherhood and the Republicans together and let them try and create a Christian caliphate – over about 10,000 acres of some desert property.

        That’ll keep em all busy for a while. 🙂

        • My own thought was let them have Texas or Arizona. 😛

          • Nathan Katungi

            Hey Norbrook, sorry, I am not ready to give up Austin and Houston. Like wise, I don’t want to give up Tucson and Phoenix. I am, however, willing to consider letting them have either Idaho or Okalahoma.

  3. kittypat

    I had the hardest time understanding why Beck’s followers thought he was “smart”, now I see that the props, he’s got glasses and chalkboards aplenty, probably play an important part in that perception. But HOW can anyone take a show seriously when the host comes out in something that looks like a backwards Snuggy thingamajigger?

    • He’s become like one of those scenes in the movies, where the car brakes have failed and you know that it’s going over a cliff at some point.

      • kittypat

        Exactly NB , it’s been mentioned before but it’s worth mentioning again, I keep waiting for him to have a Dusty Rhodes moment ala “A Face in the Crowd”.

        • Exactly, which is why Olbermann used to call him “Lonesome Beck.” 😀 I’ve seen it happen before – people tend to forget that Lou Dobbs used to be a fairly sane and respected business reporter, who actually had a point when he talked about the problems and dangers of offshoring. Then he started getting into the conspiracy theories (North American Union, the highway between Canada and Mexico, etc) and immigration and kept going down the crazy trail with it. With Beck, the problem is that Fox isn’t pulling the plug on his show or making any attempt to rein him in, so we get to watch him having his psychotic break.

        • kittypat

          oops you’re right it’s Lonesome Rhodes not “Dusty” cripes!!! I’ve seen the movie several times you’d think I’d remember that. Beck did have his youtube moment when he was ranting and raving after his surgery on his ahem nether region.

  4. overseasgranny

    Speaking of Zsa Zsa Huff, I see Kos is restructuring DK partly like Huff and partly like WordPress with a couple of added bells and whistles. I would bet he is well on his way to selling, too. Poor PL. Where will they go?

    • Ha. The bells and the whistles are not working so well (at least one delay in the roll out). I keep an eye on the Great Orange Satan because I still have friends over there. The new site will not be HuffPo. It is designed to generate page hits on the site. That is it. The one diary limit being removed will cause the number of diaries per day to go from about 150 or so to about 1,000. Each diary (and each message and each comment) generates several page hits and page hits are $$$s.

      • There have been so many delays in that, it fell into the “Duke Nukem Forever” category. We might want to nominated for Wired’s “Vaporware of the year” award. 😆 Kos was talking that up when I joined DK, it was supposed to be rolled out “right after the election” in 2008, and it’s been slipping ever since. The more he started talking about what was in it, the more I was convinced that it was going to not be the great thing he thought. For one thing, when I’m really worked up, having nothing else to do with my life, I can knock out two or three half-way decent posts in a day. Most of the time, I have to stretch to get one. I’m sure that the limit removal will be great for slinkerwink, but no one else really needs it.

        • Someone called it “Diary tweeting”. I suspect that the 140 character limit will be one that it will be hard to fill (not stay within).

          Intelligent posters did not find it limiting. But the site was hardly designed for them.

          • I can think of only a few occasions where I found it limiting, and that was only when I was participating in a blogathon relating to a fund-raising effort or natural disaster. There was nothing like having used my daily diary allotment for that to give me an idea for a totally different diary. 😆

            Besides the privacy concerns, the other thing I saw was that it creates a much greater cliquish environment, even worse than what was prevalent with the “Kos’ cool kids” on the Rec List, and the abuse of the TU system. My personal opinion is that Kos is trying to boost the page rates, and “modernize” the site in order to make it more attractive as a takeover target.

  5. g

    What intrigues me is wondering about the cost of Beta. It would amuse me if Kos had to invest personal savings on this weird venture. I took a look at it, lonely over there 🙂

    • Considering the main “money” site he has is the sports blog, and yes, he’s got venture capital for it, I’m assuming that he’s thinking of using the same platform on both sites. Which would minimize his cost, and I doubt he’s anything out of his personal pocket.

      • g

        I didn’t realize he had a sports site! I am sure the P/W subcom will continue to be successful on Beta – don’t know about the others. My sense (and I’m clearly biased) is that the “family” of Prog Blogs have the big mo now. BTW, BWN still appears to be down 😦