Moving on, so to speak

It’s been about 10 months since I started this blog, and what I thought would be a very occasional posting here turned out to be a fairly regular thing.  This is going to be post #108.    My original purpose was to use this to blog about the things that interested me, that didn’t quite fit anywhere else I was writing.  At the time, I was a regular diarist over at Daily Kos and The Albany Project, which was fine for my political interests, but not for a lot of other things.  Even on the “political” side, I had an occasional idea that really didn’t “fit” at those places, usually because it just wouldn’t work out as a diary.

As the saying goes about “the best laid plans,” that ended up being chucked into the wastebasket when I got to the point of being terminally fed-up with Daily Kos.   Since The Albany Project is mostly for state politics, there was a lot that I used to diary about over at Daily Kos that didn’t fit there.  Which meant that a lot of my musing on politics ended up here.   I wasn’t the only person who wasn’t happy about the direction that Daily Kos had taken, and the atmosphere there.  There were a group of us who felt much the same way, and somewhere along the line, a decision was made to create a new site.   Which was great, and yes, I did have a hand in planning it, and I was one of the people who were on the list to write for it when it got around to launching.

Another old saying is that “life is what happens while you were making other plans.”   In this case, it turned out that my professional life shifted into high gear, with a lot of time being taken up away from the computer.  Which, of course, is when the site launched.   My – and the site owners – plans to have me write for the site had to be shelved.  I (very) regretfully declined the opportunity.

That changed recently.  My professional life is going back to “normal” – at least for a few months – and I once again received an invitation to write for them.  This time I accepted.  I’m now a writer for Blue Wave News, and my first posting there went up yesterday.   What does it mean for this blog?  It means that I’m going to try – probably fail, but try – to take it to what I meant it to be in the first place.  A place where I write about all the other things that interest me, as well as put the stuff that doesn’t quite “fit” anywhere else.   The “political blogging” is moving on.

Comments Off on Moving on, so to speak

Filed under Meta

Comments are closed.