It just confirms my low opinion of them

Last month, I wrote a post that it was now official – the Republican Party had lost its mind.   Looking at the candidates that had emerged out of the Tea Party, and into the Republican nomination for various offices, I thought that the insanity had taken hold of them.   Since then, nothing has changed my mind.  In fact, it’s just gotten worse.  We have the  Republican candidate for Senator from Alaska, Joe Miller touting building a wall to secure the border.  He said “If East Germany could, we could,”  Right, take an example from one of the most repressive regimes in recent history, and use it as a model.   That’s after he had his private security “arrest” a reporter for committing the terrible sin of asking him questions about his record.   He doesn’t want to talk to the press, because he thinks that candidates shouldn’t have to.

Sharon Angle out in Nevada continues to make the news.  She continues to open her mouth and insert foot.

Consider these remarks Angle made during her appearance.

“So that’s what we want is a secure and sovereign nation and, you know, I don’t know that all of you are Latino. Some of you look a little more Asian to me. I don’t know that. [Note: it’s the Hispanic Student Union. The whole room is Hispanic teenagers.] What we know, what we know about ourselves is that we are a melting pot in this country. My grandchildren are evidence of that. I’m evidence of that. I’ve been called the first Asian legislator in our Nevada State Assembly.”

As Jon Ralston noted, no one’s ever called Angle, who is not Asian, the first Asian legislator in our Nevada State Assembly. She seems to have made this up.

That’s in addition to touting her fundraising prowess, raising 14 million dollars in the last quarter – except that she spent 12 million of that raising it. That’s not exactly responsible fundraising.

We then swing over to Delaware, where the always reliable – and entertaining – Christine O’Donnell keeps upping the spurious and crazy, and generally demonstrates that she doesn’t have a clue.  In New York, Carl Paladino manages to attract international attention, and not in a good way.  The sad part?  It’s all true.

There are always people running for office which aren’t quite “all there” when it comes to reality.  They have an axe to grind, they’re locked into a single issue, or they’re just plain nuts.  But they’ve been third-party candidates.   These days, they’re Republicans, and they actually are on the ballot as the Party’s nominees.  What’s even sadder?  Some of them are actually competitive.  That says that there are some states with a lot really stupid people.    The inmates are running the asylum, and the only hope is that sanity will eventually break out.

5 Comments

Filed under Politics

5 responses to “It just confirms my low opinion of them

  1. And can you just imagine what it’ll be like IF these three get elected?

    Are you sure you’d rather not have anarchy? 😉

    Oh, and for the weird side of the road candidate list can we add Alvin Greene?

    • I keep forgetting about him. No one, and I mean no one, is sure just how he got the votes in the first place. You have to wonder what’s in the water in S.C.

    • Now, in NY, it turns out we have a “Rent Is Too Damn High Party.” Seriously. The candidate is Jimmy McMillan, and yes, he was in the gubenatorial debate.

      • I’d say you’re kidding me, but I see you’re not! Holy cow Batman!!

        It’s just amazing what has come out from under the rocks this election season.

        It’s like Ken Buck here in CO. There’s no way in heaven I (or my wife) will vote for the boob! Michael Bennet gets a chance to aggravate me for six years.

        • I couldn’t make that up. I never knew there was a “Rent is Too Damn High Party” until this debate. New York does have a lot of small political parties, most of them single-issue or not having a lot of members. Generally, the candidates are running in local elections, or have multiple ballot lines. Every now and then, it’s just entertaining. Let’s face it, Jimmy McMillan is memorable – he’s the talk of the Albany Project.