Pundidiocy

Over the past year and change, I’ve grown exceptionally disgusted with many of the “pundits” on both sides of the political spectrum.   Many of them have fallen into a pattern:  No matter what the current administration does, they’ll be happy to tell you how it sucks.  I rather expect this from the right, because after all,  they are the opposition.  But the amount of it from various “left” or “liberal” pundits is beyond irritating.

What’s most profoundly irritating about the so-called “left” is that it’s become a constant whine-fest.  Nothing is ever “good enough,”  pure enough, fast enough, or meeting any given standard they’ve managed to think up.  There is a good way to criticize and a bad way to criticize.   A good way is to say “That’s a good start.  Now we need to push for X on this issue.”    It acknowledges that the law, regulation, directive isn’t perfect, and moves the attention – and preferably action – towards adding on to it, or changing it further towards your ideal.   The bad way is to loudly proclaim that the law, regulation, directive is horrible, terrible, falls incredibly short of the ideal, and that the administration/Congress/Democratic Party is a miserable failure.  They’ll take the bad way every time.    While it may make them feel better, it totally ignores that the President has managed to keep – and get passed – a lot of the things he campaigned on.   But it’s never good enough for them, and it feeds right into the opposition’s attacks.

That doesn’t mean I’m any happier with the right.  If anything, I’ve gotten sick and tired of the lack of anything beyond trotting out the same “prescriptions” they have in the past.  Let’s face it, given the chance to do all the things they said would work, and the demonstrated failure of them, it would help to have something relating to a new idea.  A bit of intellectual stimulation, maybe.  An alternative that could be discussed as a realistic possibility instead of a chanted mantra.  It makes me wish William F. Buckley were still around to kick your butts.  He made liberals “bring their A game” to the debate.  You’re just fodder for Stewart and Colbert.

The problem is that both sides’ “pundits” have their media platform.  The loud, incessant cacophony  of  whining about how something doesn’t work, how it’s a failure without suggesting a viable alternative that would work, or an improvement, is just idiocy.  Unfortunately, it’s drowning out the real accomplishments and substantive debate.  Idiots.

5 Comments

Filed under Politics

5 responses to “Pundidiocy

  1. TrumpDog

    The loud, incessant cacophony of whining about how something doesn’t work, how it’s a failure without suggesting a viable alternative that would work, or an improvement, is just idiocy. Unfortunately, it’s drowning out the real accomplishments and substantive debate.

    Amen x1000!!!!

    This is my beef with the “professional left”, particularly. Whatever President Obama does, make sure it’s just not good enough. No matter what , and I am sick of it.

    The biggest ones for me are Thom Hartman and Ed Schulz. I’ve had to turn off both of these people in the past year. Sometimes I wonder if they realize how negative they sound.

    Another issue I have is certain House and Senate Democrats. I did briefly tune into Ed’s show today (yes, I’m a sucker) and he had aDemocratic Rep on (I forgot the guy’s name). Anyway, Ed was asking him what he thought of the president’s speech. Instead of pointing out the positive points, the guy started talking about what else the president should do. WTF? I’m yelling at the TV, What are you doing to get the message across? He was saying what the president should say and everything but he has an opportunity to do the same. It’s like they expect the president to do EVERYTHING.

    I swear, with the car analogy, sometimes I feel that could equally be applied to Democrats as well.

    • Their biggest problem is that they were the minority opposition for so long, they don’t know how to act once they have the upper hand. They don’t seem to grasp that their actions are not only not helping advance their cause, they stand a chance of being returned to the minority because of it.

      On the right, I’m stunned by their clinging to the same tired, disproven things that they keep harping on. Particularly on tax cuts – the sheer idiocy of thinking that tax cuts are “free,” etc., just make me want to smack some of them upside the head and send them to school to take remedial math, history, and a good course on logic.

  2. I am chuckling in a relief to know that it happens on the left too – frustration with the group. I went through this years ago with the conservative right, which is what finally drove me away from ever being a member of a party (and I was once a party line Dem liberal – I know, shocking. 🙂 ).

    If the idea is reasonable I don’t care where or who it comes from, lets talk it out and see if we can do something with it.

    When I hear the constant crying it just makes me think that these people are stuck in the instant gratification cycle. There’s no way to show any patience and take things forward in some increments to make the full change(s) desired.

    • I’ve said in other forums that they’re a group of spoiled brats. 😀 They didn’t get exactly what they wanted, when they wanted it – no matter that they got most of what they wanted, or it turned out to be harder to do than they thought. Rather than work from that point, they throw a conniption fit.

      I don’t excuse the conservatives, either. I swear, if I hear one more elected official pontificate on cutting taxes without a corresponding cut in spending, or saying they don’t need them, I’m going to scream. I’m perfectly willing to listen, but they have to have, you know, original ideas with reasonable amount of facts to back them up.

      • I don’t excuse the conservatives, either. I swear, if I hear one more elected official pontificate on cutting taxes without a corresponding cut in spending, or saying they don’t need them, I’m going to scream. I’m perfectly willing to listen, but they have to have, you know, original ideas with reasonable amount of facts to back them up.

        Here is an area where you and I are in complete agreement.

        I am so dang sick of the crap coming out of the right – I’ve gotten to where all I hear is the “waaah waaah wah” of Charlie Brown’s teacher.