Why are you waiting around?

I’ve been a supervisor in various jobs over the course of my life.   Some of those positions have had a regular changeover in workers.  A new training cycle, a new group of employees,  seasonal workers, and so on.   One of the things I tried to do was to establish a routine.  There’s always the usual everyday things that have to be done, with the a mix of weekly or monthly tasks,  and the occasional “out of routine” task.   Establishing a routine makes it easy on all concerned.  These things have to be done, this is the priority I, as the supervisor, assign to them, this is how I want it done, and I expect it to take this long.    After the routine is established, I am able to stand back and let my staff get on with it.  I might check up on things, but I don’t get into the same details and instructions I did while establishing it.   At least, that’s the way it usually works.  Every now and then, I’d end up with a staff that was slow on the uptake.   Long after every other group I’d worked with had gotten the routine and went right ahead, they would still sit there waiting for me to tell them what to do.

I’m reminded of those crews when I look at a number of so-called “activists.”  They’re continually whining about the President or the Democratic Party not issuing instructions.  They’re not being told what to do, how to do it, or when to do it.  None of the inaction is their fault.     Yes, it is.  They’re slow on the uptake.  A huge capability was put into the activists hands, called Organizing For America.  The tools to locally organize groups, find like-minded people in your area, and take action were handed to them.  The message was specifically stated –  here’s what needs to be done, and here’s the  tools to do it.   It was expected – that whole “grassroots” thing – that people would get busy.   If there was a mistake made, it was assuming that people – particularly the “activists” – would take over, and get on with the tasks at hand.  Unfortunately, it appears not to be the case.  The biggest complainers seem to be pretty slow on the uptake.  They’re still sitting around waiting for someone to tell them what to do.

I’m going to say to the activists just what I told those crews:  Why are you waiting around?  You know what to do – go do it!

Comments Off on Why are you waiting around?

Filed under Politics

Comments are closed.