Another Job I Won’t Get

One of the things I used to hate when I was looking for work was the phrase “You’re overqualified.”  What it really meant was that I was too educated, too old, or too expensive.   Oh, and that I wasn’t getting the job.   I’m not looking for a change at the moment, but in reading the recent reports, I realize that there’s another career I should probably cross off my list of “opportunities:”   Washington news correspondent.

I came to that conclusion after reading the transcripts from the Presidential news conference, and some tweets from various correspondents afterwards.   Here’s the first one, from CNN’s White House correspondent Jessica Yellin:

JESSICA YELLIN: To your question “what could you do?” First of all couldn’t you just have them down here and refuse to let them leave the room until you have a deal?

To which the President responded:

I mean Jessica, I – I am not a dictator. I’m the President. So ultimately if Mitch McConnell or John Boehner say we need to go to catch a plane, I can’t have Secret Service block the doorway.

YELLIN: But isn’t it a part of leadership? I’m sorry to interrupt you, but isn’t –

This is not the first time she’s had some … idea.  This is a previous example, where she asks the Press Secretary if “President Obama was willing to make more visits to Capitol Hill in order to speed up new gun control legislation”:

This would be sad by itself, but could be written off as just a sterling example of CNN’s decline from a respected news organization into “Fox Lite” and “infotainment.”   But she’s not the only one.

The National Journal’s Ron Fournier tweeted this:

Can handle Bin laden, not Boehner? MT @AP: He may be POTUS, but Obama says he’s incapable of “a Jedi mind meld”: http://apne.ws/XLm3Xt  -BW

Seriously.   He needs to use Seal Team 6?   Then we have Bob Woodward:

Woodward said Obama was showing a “kind of madness I haven’t seen in a long time” for a decision not to deploy an aircraft carrier to the Persian Gulf because of budget concerns.

The Defense Department said in early February that it would not deploy the U.S.S. Harry Truman to the Persian Gulf, citing budget concerns relating to the looming cuts known as the sequester.

“Can you imagine Ronald Reagan sitting there and saying, ‘Oh, by the way, I can’t do this because of some budget document?'” Woodward said on MSNBC.

“Or George W. Bush saying, ‘You know, I’m not going to invade Iraq because I can’t get the aircraft carriers I need?'” Or even Bill Clinton saying, ‘You know, I’m not going to attack Saddam Hussein’s intelligence headquarters,’ … because of some budget document?”

Yes, the President should just ignore Congress and an explicit law, just … because.   These are just a few of the more egregious examples, but there are a lot more.  Somehow, the movie and television portrayal of politics, of what “presidents are supposed to act like or do” has become their baseline for judging this President.   He’s supposed to run up to the Capitol and buttonhole legislators.  He’s got to drag them into the White House by force, and hold them hostage until they agree.  He can wave aside budgets and legislative constraints to do what he damn well pleases.  Yes, he gets to be … a dictator!


Unlike them, I recognize that there are … rules.  That there’s this document called the Constitution, which fairly clearly lays out what Congress is supposed to do and what the President is supposed to do.  I’ve taken civics classes, I’ve read the Constitution, and even more, I took the time to read up on the legislative process and how politics works.


I also spend a great deal of time before most of my posts gathering information and organizing it.  I look for facts, and hard figures.  Yes, these are opinion pieces, but I like to have my ducks in a row before I go out in public with my opinion.   I know what the President can and can’t do, and so any questions I’d ask would start from that point, not asking him why he’s not doing something that he’s not allowed to do in the first place.   That’s why I will never be a Washington correspondent.  You see, I’m overqualified.

11 Comments

Filed under Politics

11 responses to “Another Job I Won’t Get

  1. What a hoot that Jessica Yellin (perfect name) is. Like yer blog; just don’t forget that “The Professional Left” is also a podcast by us two pragmatic liberals such as yourself. Keep the faith!

    • When I was reading the reports of the press conference, the first thing that crossed my mind was “Who the hell asked a question that stupid?”

      It’s a measure of how bad the mainstream press and pundits have gotten, in that I’d normally expect at least a modest amount of familiarity with the roles of each branch of government, and what politics are about. From the evidence these days, very few of them have a clue about it, except what they saw on some dramatization on television or in a movie.

    • Vic78

      You and Driftglass rock. I appreciate the ruthlessness of your attacks. I would give pay-per-view money to see you two on Bill Maher’s show with Brooks, Sully, Huffington, and Frum.

    • Cthulhu

      I’m not surprised, mind you, but it’s a disgrace that someone who gets to put “Journalist” in her title obviously knows so little about the rules of her own goverment that she’d ask such insipid question.

      Just another example at how low our Empire has fallen.

  2. Vic78

    I’m amazed at Obama’s patience. I think I know what goes through his mind when he deals with the miscreants. NSFW

  3. Yes, you are overqualified, PLUS, you don’t have this desperate, all-consuming need to be noticed and to get your 3 minutes of airtime. What a ninny Jessica is. The dumbing down of the media is in full play here. And indistinguishable from talk shows.

    • Since I don’t watch television, I was looking at the transcripts. The first thing that crossed my mind after finding out who had asked the question was “I bet she looks really good on camera.” Sure enough, in googling her name (to find video of the event) the first thing on the search results was a YouTube comment thread about how “hot” she is. :roll: CNN is apparently following Fox hiring practices: Look good, brains not required. :cry:

  4. ErikaF

    Somehow, the movie and television portrayal of politics, of what “presidents are supposed to act like or do” has become their baseline for judging this President.

    Yes, yes, and yes. Somehow too many people (sad to say, on both sides) have now decided that Hollywood = reality. Our president can singlehandedly pass bills and make the world OK – after all, didn’t something like that happen in the West Wing, and Independence Day, and the cool movies with Harrison Ford as the President? I’ve been seeing the devolution of reality on the right for close to 20 years, now I’m seeing it on the left side. I don’t quite believe that videogame violence leads to actual gun violence, but I am beginning to think that Hollywood reality leads to political fantasy.

    • Exactly. I lost track of how many on the left kept talking about him using “the bully pulpit.” As if, somehow, after a reprise of the speech from “An American President,” magically Congress and the American public would suddenly decide to pass whatever was required. :roll: The idea that somehow the President can force Congress to do what he wants, or that politicians will cave if only he does … something “forceful” (waterboarding?).

      Like the clip, where Jessica Yellin asks why the President isn’t going to Capitol Hill to lobby. Seriously, when has anyone ever seen something like that? Oh, right, in movies. :roll: In real life? Never.

    • Cthulhu

      Which is really ironic , considering how much time the Reich wing spends ranting against “Hollywood Liberalism”. Theres gotta be a way to turn that to our favor.

  5. Common sense is not common

    Talking about CNN hiring practices,have you notice how seamlessly the ‘so-called’ journalists’ at CNN move and transition over at Fox.Ed Henry,Major Barrett,John Roberts,Bill Hammer and the like come to mind.

    CNN is a conservative,white promoting outfit who slavishly follows the fox propogana masquerading as News model.