2012 in review

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

4,329 films were submitted to the 2012 Cannes Film Festival. This blog had 57,000 views in 2012. If each view were a film, this blog would power 13 Film Festivals

Click here to see the complete report.


While I did slightly fewer posts this year (12), I had more views. My thanks to all the visitors new and old, and especially to those of you who chose to comment. I really do appreciate it.  The reason for the decline in posting is that I had more changes in my personal life than I’d planned on.   I spent most of first months of this year helping a newly-widowed aunt through the incredible mess her husband had left behind.   I can now write a book on why not having a will and life insurance is a bad thing.

Compounding that, I accepted a new position at work.  While my production normally drops during the summer because of the nature of my job, and to be honest, there’s a lot of other things to do besides sit around on a computer,  the new position turned out to be more … challenging … than expected.   Besides the nature of the location – off the grid – there were numerous long-term problems which turned “free time” in to a wistful memory.

All of which combined to put “blogging” far down my priority list earlier and longer than I might have thought at the end of last year.  While next year looks to be somewhat better on the personal and professional front, I’m not going to make any promises about what I’m going to blog about.  In looking back over this year, I once again spent more time on politics than I’d hoped to, or wanted to. Some of that can be written off as it being a Presidential election year, but I still had my moments of taking on various of the Left.   If there were overall themes,  they can be summed up as “Purity is only good in the abstract, not in reality,” or “Oh my, is that stupid.”

While New Year’s resolutions seem to exist to be broken, I’ve been breaking my resolutions for here in record time.  Therefore, my resolution for this year is to … keep doing what I’ve been doing.  I already know that politics are going to be a frequent topic,  I’ll still be doing my LOL picture posts, and I’ll try to slip in some of the other things.  At least that’s one resolution I won’t break.

4 Comments

Filed under Meta

4 responses to “2012 in review

  1. Like you I think I can relax some now from the political battles. Victory was ours for the most part but only in the sense that the neanderthals on the right lost. Much still needs to be done but at least I won’t be wasting as much of my time (I hope) counteracting the grand stupidity too often displayed by those in the grand ole Party.

    Happy New Year Norbrook

    • Happy New Year to you as well. :-D I still have a few political posts in the hopper, one of which will probably be up later today. Eventually, I’m hoping that the blatant stupidity will die down enough that I can get all those other posts sitting in the draft folder out and on the main page. ;-)

  2. sjterrid

    I hope you have a Happy and healthy New Year, Norbrook! Thanks for all the great posts.

  3. see above

    Being a newby here I enjoy your posts very much. I think with what has to be settled and the lack of honesty about debt, defict, serious problems I’m sure mcu will be politics. I know we are already gering up for keeping the pressure on and 2014. It will be a battle with the gerrymandering that went on but the RR’s have been hit by the economy too and maybe there are districts that aren’t as safe as thought. Happy-Healthy-Peaceful New Year