Humpday Happenings

It’s the first week back at work after Thanksgiving, and we’re half-way through it.  It’s always tough to come back after an extended period off, but, the bills have to be paid.

Even Coffee has its down sides

An administrative comment:  One of the reasons people can’t comment on the older posts is that I set the commenting period to 7 days.   After that, comments are not allowed on that post.  I did this for several reasons.  The first is that almost all comments that any of my posts have drawn are made within the first three days of it being posted.  The second is that I often don’t have as much time as I’d like to keep track of things here.  The final one is that what annoys me on some other sites are “zombie threads.”  That’s where someone posts a comment on a post that’s a year or two old, leading you to wonder why they bothered, or restarting a long-settled battle.    So after much experimentation, the 7 day limit is going to stand.

Moving on, tourist season is over, and it was a successful one for the local businesses.

Bag limit?

But now winter is starting, meaning cold weather and putting away the summer clothing

Which means it’s time for me to work up my budget requests at work

and come up with suitable justifications for various items

along with keeping the other supervisors away from some things

I think I’m going to be fairly successful.

4 Comments

Filed under Humor, Meta

4 responses to “Humpday Happenings

  1. see above

    Actually the seven days is a good thing keeps me from embarassing myself when I’ve been away a while. Nothing to do with your post but I ran across a quote today I thought appropriate to the times.
    “The modern conservative is engaged in one of man’s oldest exercises in moral philosophy: that is, the search for a superior moral justification for selfishness” John Kenneth Galbraith

    • One of the most changed setting here during the first two years was how long I let the commenting period run. It went from “no limit” to 30 days, down to 15, back to 30, down to 10, up to 21, down to 5, up to 10, before I finally settled on 7, where it’s been since last year. Every now and then I think of changing it, and I get an occasional complaint. I can shut down comments on an individual post, but I can’t increase it on one.

  2. Little known fact: the concept of leverage was formalized by Phluphimedes, who theorized that with a long enough lever he could gather all of the nuts in a giant tree. A human named Archimedes wrote about moving the world, but that was just silly. Phluphimedes at least made sense.

    • Thank you for the history lesson! It’s nice to see you’re spending your time in academia learning, instead of participating in the newer internet fads.