Administrative Notes

As readers of this blog may have noted, I haven’t been posting here very often.  That’s because of my work schedule, which currently entails 14 hour days, and for the past few weeks, it’s been 7 days a week.    However, I have tried to keep up with any comments made here, and respond.   That said, a few things have been said which I think I’ll address.

First off, I suggest everyone check the “New Readers” page.  I’ve just added a paragraph, but that contains the “basics” of what I’m about and what I’ll tolerate.  One of the things which has been in place since last year has been a “7 day comment period.”  That means that I set WordPress to automatically turn off comments after 7 days have passed on any of the posts here.  I did that because most of the comments made on any post are within the first 72 hours, and after that, there’s either a new post or things have gotten off track.

Second,  if you look at the title of this blog, it clearly states that this is my blog.  It is not a corporate blog, I do not write here at the invitation of anyone else, I do not answer to anyone (besides the WordPress.com terms of service), and I sure as heck don’t get paid for this.    That  means that I control everything about this blog, including whether or not I allow or disallow comments or “want to have the last word.”   I can even edit  people’s comments, so my letting various things stand is because I chose to.

Right now, I’m pretty cranky, so if some people notice that their comments aren’t appearing anymore, there’s a reason for it.  I may change my mind in the future, but for now?

13 Comments

Filed under Meta

13 responses to “Administrative Notes

  1. aquagranny911

    Whoa! Just testing to see if I can still comment here. I do always try to be respectful, Norbrook.

    Please try to get some rest & even better yet some play for yourself.

    • overseasgranny

      I think we grannies are still safe. Just don’t tell him to eat his vegetables and go to bed early.

    • I’ve been debating doing some “cracking down” for a few months now, and I finally hit that point. It didn’t help that my work schedule went from “crazy” to “completely insane.”

      • aquagranny911

        I love that song! When it first came out, I was working two jobs & trying to finish my thesis. It was my theme song! Hang in there, Kiddo.

  2. Sophie Amrain

    IMHO, you are doing a good job, Norbrook. Don’t let the comments get to you.

  3. As I have found with things here so many many times, this is all reasonable and fair, so hopefully any potential offenders take note and understand this is serious.

    • Thanks. I really think hard about whether I should place anyone on moderation or use the banhammer, and it’s not something I do lightly.

  4. I just placed someone in moderation for my blog — but I take much of the blame because I responded to his BS rather than ignoring it. I don’t like limiting discussion, but sometimes it is necessary. I look forward to when you have time to blog more!

    • I really don’t like it either, but I just hit a point where I realized that I already knew what was going to be said, and honestly, I really don’t have any time to tie up with that.

  5. It’s all cool, Norbrook; you run an excellent blogship. Dealing with allowing commentary is tough, especially when trolls or even just committed ideologues decide to make a hobby of infesting the comments with blather that isn’t worthy of rebuttal but can’t be ignored. I notice that when blackwaterdog revived “The only adult in the room” she did so as comment-disabled, and who can blame her?

    So write when you can in the midst of your life’s madness; we’ll wait.

    • Thanks. As I said, I don’t like banning or moderating here, but I do have a limit, and when that limit is reached, I will do it. My work situation is getting better now, but I still don’t have a whole lot of time available to sit down and do a lot of things on the Internet. That should change towards the end of the year, once “field season” goes away, sometime in November (maybe).

    • I should also point out that the original “my patience is limited” section was aimed at so-called progressives. But it also holds true of conservatives, particularly if I “can see them coming a mile away” when it comes to what they’re going to say.

      • Heh. I tend to class your patience-testing “so-called progressives” with conservative comment-infesters as equally obnoxious. Swat away!