It’s Friday! Administrivia and Other Thoughts

I said at the end of the year that I was going to be making some changes with this blog.  After a period of experimenting with various themes, I decided to punt and keep the one I was using.  That doesn’t mean I haven’t been making changes here, I have.  If you look up at the top of page, you’ll see that I’ve made some changes, in particular, changing the “Guidelines and Stuff” to “New Reader? Read First.”  It’s the “guidelines” with some updates added in.  I’ve also been changing around the sidebars, to make things a little easier to find what’s here.

Two weeks ago, I wrote a post that said “Now do you think there’s no difference between the parties?”  This turned out to be extremely popular.  How popular?  On two different days it set the record for most hits on this site.  Predictably, various people showed up to try to make the case that they were “the same.”   They ran out the same lines the frustrati have been running out for the past three years.

If the events in the news since I posted that blog haven’t gotten your attention, and made it very clear that there is a real and significant difference between the two parties, you’re in the category of being unable to walk and chew gum at the same time.

Which means I’m going to give your opinion the attention it deserves.

Seriously, you have Rush Limbaugh saying things like this:

I’ve run some numbers here.  Did you notice in that sound bite Sheila Jackson Lee or Maria Cantwell or one of them talked about the strength that Sandra Fluke had to go before Congress, which is amazing.  She’s having so much sex it’s amazing she can still walk, but she made it up there.  It takes a lot of courage to ask for something free, folks.  Takes a lot of strength to ask for freebies, doesn’t it?  I’m being facetious.  You know what the solution is here, why doesn’t Georgetown lower their tuition?

Which given various statements and actions from various elected Republicans and candidates should make you realize the difference.  Just an example?

President Obama called Sandra Fluke, the Georgetown University law student who testified at a House contraception hearing. Rush Limbaugh recently had harsh words for Fluke, calling her a “slut.”

Fluke told MSNBC’s Andrea Mitchell that Obama “encouraged me and supported me and thanked me for speaking out about the concerns of American women.”

Obama also told Fluke that she should tell her parents that “they should be proud.”

If you can’t see the difference, well …

7 Comments

Filed under Meta, Politics

7 responses to “It’s Friday! Administrivia and Other Thoughts

  1. Loved this diary especially since you included one of my favorite characters, Yoda. I, too can’t believe how many people keep saying “it’s all the same.” Some body tried that on another blog and I left them a recipe for Salsa Verde. Probably too good for them but I was bored with the debate.

    Keep up the good work ♥

    • I had some idiot concern troll follow me over here from Milt Shook’s blog, and try to post an off-topic rebuttal to something I said to him there. No, it is not going to get posted. If he’s reading this, no, I’m not sorry about what I said, and I meant every word. Hence my putting up the “new reader” stuff. :-D

      • Dang! Now I’ll have to go read those “rules” Lol, is that like reading the directions AFTER you try to put something together? Have a good weekend, Kiddo. I’ve got a “Women For Obama” meeting again tomorrow & I am stoked! We are going to rock this joint!

  2. I was amazed at the response to that post as well. It’s great when it’s active like that. As long as there aren’t too many trolls, the responses help to sharpen various lines of reasoning.

    TIP for visitors: if you find you can express your IQ as a two-digit number, this might not be a good blog for you. Fortunately there are 100s of thousands of blogs elsewhere to choose from. Try for example:

    http://spongebobsworld.tumblr.com/post/15244108661/we-all-know-this-song
    http://www.disneyfoodblog.com/

  3. Vic78

    I can’t get over the pics. All you can do is laugh at these people. To make birth control an issue is a new brand of stupid. To believe that Dems and Reps are the same at this point makes me think that people sleep with plastic bags over their heads.

  4. With Rick Santorum channeling Pope Pius IX these days, the Republican party has gone surreal. It’s all bitterness, nostalgia, anger at change, and now with Limbaugh calling women who use birth control sluts and prostitutes…I mean, nobody can claim the two parties are the same!

    • That’s why in my previous post I used the train wreck “fail” picture. I’ve seen more than a little incredulity about this from various people. Most of us considered a lot of those “issues” as being decided long ago, and to see them being brought up – and under attack – made you feel like you’d been dropped into an alternate dimension.