Just Interesting Stuff

I have a pretty wide range of interests.  Sometimes I keep track of things for professional reasons  to keep myself up to date, or it’s a past profession that I’m trying to keep my hand in, and sometimes it’s just because I happen to like it.   Something like measuring a single gene’s activity in real time is something related to what I used to do, and I can think of a number of applications down the line where this will be a great tool.  I follow a lot of the computer technology blogs for the same reason.   Sometimes, it’s not professional, it’s just what may appeal to my sense of wonder, curiosity, or my sense of humor.

Yesterday was the celebration of the Hubble’s 21’st year in space.  Yes, the Hubble Space Telescope has been working for 21 years, and giving us a tremendous view of the universe.  While there’s a lot of science that has been learned, for the most part, it’s pictures like this that make us love it:

Photo Credit: NASA, ESA, and the Hubble Heritage Team (STScI / AURA)

Another interest of mine is paleontology, particularly dinosaurs.   While I wasn’t willing to go into it as a field, it doesn’t mean that I wasn’t interested.  So, a video like this one is fun:

Allied to paleontology is archaeology, and the study of ancient peoples.  It’s becoming evident that what most people in the field accepted as “standard” as to when humans arrived in North America is wrong.   This report from Texas has some strong evidence that people were here before that:

The new site in Texas, known as the Debra L. Friedkin site, documents a pre-Clovis settlement in the region and informs researchers about the transition to Clovis culture and technology, which is later seen across North and Central America (and also into northern South America).

I’m not terribly shocked by the news.  Given how fast humans seem to have spread across the planet, it would have been more surprising to find out that took as long as was thought for people to get here.

There’s a new Old Spice commercial, which I just found funny as hell:

Hey, what can I say, I have a warped sense of humor!   Speaking of which…

And some bear information:

7 Comments

Filed under Humor, Science

7 responses to “Just Interesting Stuff

  1. overseasgranny

    Oh, my. I don’t know where to start. The old Spice commercial is just plain funny, but the campground sign had me roaring.

    I, too, love studying the ancient ones, but the Celts and allied septs. I don’t start getting excited or even much interested until we can get back to before 900 AD

    • One of the things that used to irritate – or amuse – me (depending on the day) is the underestimation of ancient peoples. Primitive does not equal Stupid. I used to roll my eyes when seeing books like von Daniken’s, where they used handy aliens to explain various ancient structures. Just because he couldn’t think of how to do it without modern technology didn’t mean that they couldn’t do it.

      We think of “stone age” as meaning simple, but if you’ve ever tried to make stone tools (I have) you find out it’s a complex skill. It took me a lot of tries to get a useable stone hand axe, and something that could be used as a knife – and it wasn’t anything pretty.

  2. overseasgranny

    Ever try knapping flint to make a knife? Now that is one sharp blade to do almost anything with. Sharper than almost any knife in my kitchen.

    • Yes. :) It’s also harder than it looks. I got something functional, but nothing like you’d see in the “primitive stone age.” :roll:

  3. The bear nearly choking on the irony is hilarious. Thanks for sharing your random interesting stuff, Norbrook.

  4. The dinosour video, I thought it was robotic till I saw 2 human legs.. Its very nice to see your stuffs.

    Thanks for sharing..