Man’s Best Friend

“The one absolutely unselfish friend that a man can have in this selfish world, the one that never deserts him and the one that never proves ungrateful or treacherous is his dog.”

“A man’s dog stands by him in prosperity and in poverty, in health and in sickness. He will sleep on the cold ground, where the wintry winds blow and the snow drives fiercely, if only he may be near his master’s side.”

“He will kiss the hand that has no food to offer, he will lick the wounds and sores that come in encounters with the roughness of the world”

“He guards the sleep of his pauper master as if he were a prince.”

“When all other friends desert, he remains. When riches take wings and reputation falls to pieces, he is as constant in his love as the sun in its journey through the heavens.”

“If fortune drives the master forth an outcast in the world, friendless and homeless, the faithful dog asks no higher privilege than that of accompanying him to guard against danger, to fight against his enemies,”

“and when the last scene of all comes, and death takes the master in its embrace and his body is laid away in the cold ground, no matter if all other friends pursue their way, there by his graveside will the noble dog be found, his head between his paws, his eyes sad but open in alert watchfulness, faithful and true even to death.”

Text by Senator George Graham Vest – “Eulogy on the Dog” (1870)

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Man’s Best Friend

  1. sjterrid

    Good morning Norbrook. Thank you for posting these heart-warming photos.

  2. overseasgranny

    You shouldn’t make me teary first thing in the morning. Beautifully put together.

  3. Observerinvancouver

    Bill in Portland, Maine (DKos) linked that last picture the other day with the suggestion that it deserved a Pulitzer. It’s pretty overwhelming.

  4. Dorothy Rissman

    I agree with overseasgranny. Every dog I have never had a dog that was nasty, cruel, nonsupportive or uncaring. Their love has no bounds. The hard part about being a dog owner is that their lives are so much shorter than ours.

    After loosing our three pals of ten years, we got a couple of strays that were only one and three years old. Now they are middle age. Time moves so fast. We must make sure that we protect and return the love of our dogs.

  5. Nina

    *Sigh* of feelings beyond words… Love dogs and know of their love, loyalty and dedication beyond the food bowl. Cats have a different reputation and can’t necessarily show their loyalty the ways dogs do, but I have seen some cats, in their cat way, demonstrate (in their cat way), love and loyalty… Human animals, feline, canine, aves (parrots are incredible)…

  6. g

    Oh N…hard to type through tears. But it works both ways – that kind hearted soldier carrying his friend…

    I believe both my dogs and my cat have shown cmpassion to me when I was in need.

    I’ll be having surgery in a few weeks. I need to keep my cat away from my dressings, drains, etc when I get home. THIS is one of my biggest worries, believe it or not :) THE SEPARATION!!

    • Good luck with the surgery, and I’m sorry to hear that you need it. :(

      I’ve always loved this particular piece of literature – it’s actually part of a closing argument to a jury – and it was the picture of the dog lying by the grave of its owner that inspired me to use it.

      • g

        Thanks. My husband gifted me with an IPAD – easier to prop up in bed. And I’m thinking LAYERS between me and my little pal – that might work :)

        • overseasgranny

          g, keep a pillow handy to protect yourself. That’s what I had to do with my cat who rarely wants to sit on me except after surgery ;-(

          • g

            I WILL figure out something. She’ll be crying at the bedroom door for hours. My cat ALWAYS wants to be with me. She’d probably loved to be toted around in a baby sling :)

  7. Bobfr

    Very kind of you to post this, Norbrook. Thank you.

  8. Nice post, Norbrook. Happiness is a warm woozle.