Random Gripes

A lot of my work takes place outdoors.  Because of this, it’s necessary to keep an eye on the weather, and I make it a point to check various weather sites and news.  Sometimes it’s to make work plans, or to determine what I need to wear (or bring).   Which is fine, except for one little problem.  The weather reports are usually wrong.   Really, I do understand that it’s difficult to predict the weather several days out.  But I don’t understand how it can be so hard to predict it 12 hours out.  I’m not saying they have to hit the high or low temperature on the nose, or something like that.  I’m saying they can’t get whether it’s going to be sunny or raining right.   When I check at 6 PM, and I’m told it’s going to be sunny all day tomorrow, I take it badly when I wake up to a major rainstorm that goes on all day.   With all that fancy equipment they have – radar, ground stations, satellites, and so on – you’d think they’d do better.

The tourist season is finally over.  Look, people,  while I’m a local, and all that,   I work for a living.  That means I don’t spend my days going to every museum, eating at all the restaurants,  hiking every single trail, climbing each mountain, or visiting every “point of interest”  in the entire Adirondacks.   When you ask me about one of those, I’m not going to give you a good answer about what it’s like or what the conditions are.  You’re lucky if I’ve heard of it or know where it is.    You’re really lucky if I actually have been there, but even then, it’s probably been a while.    I’m not a tour guide, live with it.

The smartest people I’ve ever met did not start their conversations by telling me how smart they are.  That you are is an indicator you’re not that smart.   I’m sure you’re impressed by the fact that you belong to Mensa, are rated in chess, have a degree from some prestigious university, etc.   I’m sorry I failed to be equally  impressed.    I’ve been in too many places where I was the dumbest person in the room, and from what I can tell, it’s only because you weren’t there.

I know there are some valid reasons why some people can’t get vaccinations.  That said, 99% of the reasons people give are complete bullshit.   So when I read a story like this, I’m pissed off.   If you’re taking health advice from Arianna Huffington or Jenny McCarthy, you really shouldn’t be having children.   Let’s face it, their main claim to fame is marrying a rich guy (Arianna) and looking good naked (Jenny).  They’re not scientists!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Random Gripes

  1. Ah weather forecasters, those people who keep themselves employed regardless of how many times they’re inaccuracy rating is higher! Does it make you wonder if you could do better just using Poor Richards Almanac? :)

    Now that we have tucked our lives back in the mountains the only thing the tourists do that irritates me is drive the scenic route between two different attraction areas. Man, they sure do clog up the roads. And their driving of these huge motor homes is not that great (to be polite). Wait—-hmmm, if we privatize those roads…… ;)

    Smart people. Huh, can’t say much about them – I’m not smart enough. They may be smart but they are lacking – usually – in common sense.

    I don’t understand the stupidity of not getting vaccinations for common illnesses we have all but eradicated in this country. I watch that whooping cough commercial on tv and shake my head at even having to have the need to run it. Parents are supposed to protect their children – yet I fear we are back to the common sense comment I made previously.

    • The people who say “there are no stupid questions” have never been in the military or worked in a job with public contact. Back when I used to work in campgrounds, I got a phone call in early July asking me what the weather was going to be on Labor Day. If I could do that, I wouldn’t have been working on campgrounds. Come to think of it, I’d be extremely wealthy these days. :) I woke up this morning to two inches of snow that weren’t supposed to be anywhere around for a couple of days, according to the weather report yesterday.

      I used to make a joke that getting your Ph.D. meant you had to turn in your common sense. I knew a lot of extremely brilliant people in their field that had trouble tying their shoe laces. What the source of my gripe was is that I’ve gotten (and still do) that “I’m soo smart” attempt at intimidation over the years. When you’ve worked in places where a lot of the people are the world experts in their field, you have a hard time being impressed.

      True story: When I was in the Army, there used to be this elderly gentleman (“Call me Tom”) who’d come in to instruct a class in the Tropical Medicine Course. He’d sneak off and stop by our lab, chatting with us technicians about what we were doing, until a few frantic Colonels found him and dragged him off. Nice guy, we thought. You can imagine what it’s like to find out that “Tom” was Thomas Weller, Ph.D., M.D., Nobel Laureate. He did the research that laid the groundwork for the polio vaccine. :D